It’s all in your perspective

I went for a walk this morning.  I had to make myself get out and do it.  I have been in a low spot the past couple of days and I knew that a walk would ground me even though I resisted doing it. So I put one foot in front of the other and was on my way. One of the things I have always treasured in my journey is signs of encouragement.  When I least expect it, there they are. For me, they are little messages from God that everything is going to be okay.  I see many of these signs through beauty in nature.  Birds, sunsets, three acorn caps on one stem, are just some of the things that encourage me.

Today I saw three of my favorite bird signs.  A crane flew right across my path (less than 10 feet) and landed just to my left in a residential yard.  The bird just stood there looking at me as I passed by.  My heart smiled at this bird just dropping by to say Hi.  Then, as I passed by some bushes, in the grassy opening was a cardinal.  Cardinals are my favorite sign.  Their vibrant color cheers me up.  The cardinal did not fly away, it just hopped a few feet away from me and stopped. I stood and watched him for a little while, soaking in the warmth of the moment.  The last sign was a hawk.  I actually only heard the hawk with it’s distinctive call.  I looked where the sound was coming from but never did spot him.

I arrived home with my heart lighter than when I left.  I felt grounded for having spent time outside admiring this beautiful world we live in.  I am grateful for a body that allows me to do all this.

When you are in a funk try taking a walk and looking for beauty around you.  Feel the ground beneath your feet. Smell the air.  Feel the wind on your skin.

Leave a Reply

